Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Gambia, The Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of The Gambia
    conventional short form: The Gambia

    Data code: GA

    Government type: republic under multiparty democratic rule

    Capital: Banjul

    Administrative divisions: 5 divisions and 1 city*; Banjul*, Lower River, MacCarthy Island, North Bank, Upper River, Western
    note: it has been reported but not verified that the name of the MacCarthy Island division has been changed to Central River

    Independence: 18 February 1965 (from UK); note—The Gambia and Senegal signed an agreement on 12 December 1981 that called for the creation of a loose confederation to be known as Senegambia, but the agreement was dissolved on 30 September 1989

    National holiday: Independence Day, 18 February (1965)

    Constitution: 24 April 1970; suspended July 1994; rewritten and approved by national referendum 8 August 1996; reestablished in January 1997

    Legal system: based on a composite of English common law, Koranic law, and customary law; accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction, with reservations

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Yahya A. J. J. JAMMEH (since 12 October 1996); Vice President Isatou Njie SAIDY (since 20 March 1997); note—the president is both the chief of state and head of government
    head of government: President Yahya A. J. J. JAMMEH (since 18 October 1996); Vice President Isatou Njie SAIDY (since 20 March 1997); note—the president is both the chief of state and head of government
    cabinet: Cabinet is appointed by the president
    elections: the president is elected by popular vote to a five-year term; the number of terms is not restricted; election last held 26 September 1996 (next to be held NA 2001)
    election results: Yahya A. J. J. JAMMEH elected president; percent of vote—Yahya A. J. J. JAMMEH 55.5%, Ousainou DARBOE 35.8%

    Legislative branch: unicameral National Assembly; 49 seats (45 elected by popular vote, 4 appointed by the president; all for five-year terms)
    elections: last popular election held 2 January 1997 (next to be held NA 2002)
    election results: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—APRC 33, UDP 7, NRP 2, PDOIS 1, independents 2

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court

    Political parties and leaders: Alliance for Patriotic Reorientation and Construction or APRC [Yahya A. J. J. JAMMEH]; National Reconciliation Party or NRP [Hamat N. K. BAH]; People's Democratic Organization for Independence and Socialism or PDOIS [Sidia JATTA]; United Democratic Party or UDP [Ousainou DARBOE]; note—in August 1996 the government banned the following from participation in the elections of 1996: People's Progressive Party or PPP [former President Dawda K. JAWARA (in exile)], and two opposition parties—the National Convention Party or NCP [former Vice President Sheriff DIBBA] and the Gambian People's Party or GPP [Hassan Musa CAMARA]

    International organization participation: ACP, AfDB, C, CCC, ECA, ECOWAS, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM, OAU, OIC, OPCW, UN, UN Security Council (temporary), UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Crispin GREY-JOHNSON
    chancery: Suite 1000, 1155 15th Street NW, Washington, DC 20005
    telephone: [1] (202) 785-1399
    FAX: [1] (202) 785-1430

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador George W. HALEY
    embassy: Fajara, Kairaba Avenue, Banjul
    mailing address: P. M. B. No. 19, Banjul
    telephone: [220] 392856, 392858, 391970, 391971
    FAX: [220] 392475

    Flag description: three equal horizontal bands of red (top), blue with white edges, and green

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)