Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Greece Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Hellenic Republic
    conventional short form: Greece
    local long form: Elliniki Dhimokratia
    local short form: Ellas or Ellada
    former: Kingdom of Greece

    Data code: GR

    Government type: parliamentary republic; monarchy rejected by referendum 8 December 1974

    Capital: Athens

    Administrative divisions: 51 prefectures (nomoi, singular—nomos)and 1 autonomous region*; Ayion Oros* (Mt. Athos), Aitolia kai Akarnania, Akhaia, Argolis, Arkadhia, Arta, Attiki, Dhodhekanisos, Drama, Evritania, Evros, Evvoia, Florina, Fokis, Fthiotis, Grevena, Ilia, Imathia, Ioannina, Irakleion, Kardhitsa, Kastoria, Kavala, Kefallinia, Kerkyra, Khalkidhiki, Khania, Khios, Kikladhes, Kilkis, Korinthia, Kozani, Lakonia, Larisa, Lasithi, Lesvos, Levkas, Magnisia, Messinia, Pella, Pieria, Preveza, Rethimni, Rodhopi, Samos, Serrai, Thesprotia, Thessaloniki, Trikala, Voiotia, Xanthi, Zakinthos

    Independence: 1829 (from the Ottoman Empire)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 25 March (1821) (proclamation of the war of independence)

    Constitution: 11 June 1975

    Legal system: based on codified Roman law; judiciary divided into civil, criminal, and administrative courts

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal and compulsory

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Konstandinos (Kostis) STEPHANOPOULOS (since 10 March 1995)
    head of government: Prime Minister Konstandinos SIMITIS (since 19 January 1996)
    cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president on the recommendation of the prime minister
    elections: president elected by Parliament for a five-year term; election last held 10 March 1995 (next to be held by NA March 2000); prime minister appointed by the president
    election results: Konstandinos STEPHANOPOULOS elected president; percent of Parliament vote—NA

    Legislative branch: unicameral Parliament or Vouli ton Ellinon (300 seats; members are elected by direct popular vote to serve four-year terms)
    elections: elections last held 22 September 1996 (next to be held by NA September 2000)
    election results: percent of vote by party—PASOK 41.5%, ND 38.1%, KKE 5.6%, Coalition of the Left and Progress 5.1%, DIKKI 4.4%, Political Spring 2.9%; seats by party—PASOK 162, ND 108, KKE 11, Coalition of the Left and Progress 10, DIKKI 9; note—seating has subsequently changed as a result of disciplinary actions by PASOK, ND, and DIKKI; 1998 seating is PASOK 162, ND 105, KKE 11, Coalition of the Left and Progress 10, DIKKI 8, independents 4

    Judicial branch: Supreme Judicial Court, judges appointed for life by the president after consultation with a judicial council; Special Supreme Tribunal, judges appointed for life by the president after consultation with a judicial council

    Political parties and leaders: New Democracy or ND (conservative) [Konstandinos KARAMANLIS]; Panhellenic Socialist Movement or PASOK [Konstandinos SIMITIS]; Communist Party of Greece or KKE [Aleka PAPARIGA]; Political Spring [Andonis SAMARAS]; Coalition of the Left and Progress (Synaspismos) [Nikolaos KONSTANDOPOULOS]; Democratic Social Movement or DIKKI [Dhimitrios TSOVOLAS]; Rainbow Coalition [Pavlos VOSKOPOULOS]

    International organization participation: Australia Group, BIS, BSEC, CCC, CE, CERN, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, EIB, EU, FAO, G- 6, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IEA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO, ITU, MINURSO, MTCR, NAM (guest), NATO, NEA, NSG, OAS (observer), OECD, OPCW, OSCE, PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, UNIKOM, UNMIBH, UNOMIG, UPU, WEU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO, ZC

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Alexandre PHILON
    chancery: 2221 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
    telephone: [1] (202) 939-5800
    FAX: [1] (202) 939-5824
    consulate(s) general: Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, New York, and San Francisco
    consulate(s): Atlanta, Houston, and New Orleans

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador R. Nicholas BURNS
    embassy: 91 Vasilissis Sophias Boulevard, 10160 Athens
    mailing address: PSC 108, APO AE 09842-0108
    telephone: [30] (1) 721-2951
    FAX: [30] (1) 645-6282
    consulate(s) general: Thessaloniki

    Flag description: nine equal horizontal stripes of blue alternating with white; there is a blue square in the upper hoist-side corner bearing a white cross; the cross symbolizes Greek Orthodoxy, the established religion of the country

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)