Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Malta Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of Malta
    conventional short form: Malta
    local long form: Repubblika ta' Malta
    local short form: Malta

    Data code: MT

    Government type: parliamentary democracy

    Capital: Valletta

    Administrative divisions: none (administered directly from Valletta)

    Independence: 21 September 1964 (from UK)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 21 September (1964)

    Constitution: 1964 constitution substantially amended on 13 December 1974

    Legal system: based on English common law and Roman civil law; has accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction, with reservations

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Ugo MIFSUD BONNICI (since 4 April 1994)
    head of government: Prime Minister Eddie Fenech ADAMI (since 6 September 1998); Deputy Prime Minister Guido de MARCO (since 8 September 1998)
    cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president on the advice of the prime minister
    elections: president elected by the House of Representatives for a five-year term; election last held NA April 1994 (next to be held by NA April 1999); following House of Representatives elections, the leader of the majority party or leader of a majority coalition is usually appointed prime minister by the president for a five-year term; the deputy prime minister is appointed by the president on the advice of the prime minister
    election results: Ugo MIFSUD BONNICI elected president; percent of House of Representatives vote—NA

    Legislative branch: unicameral House of Representatives (usually 65 seats; note—additional seats are given to the party with the largest popular vote to ensure a legislative majority; current total: 69 seats; members are elected by popular vote on the basis of proportional representation to serve five-year terms)
    elections: last held 5 September 1998 (next to be held by September 2003)
    election results: percent of vote by party—PN 51.8%, MLP 46.9%, AD 1.2%; seats by party—PN 35, MLP 30

    Judicial branch: Constitutional Court, judges are appointed by the president on the advice of the prime minister; Court of Appeal, judges are appointed by the president on the advice of the prime minister

    Political parties and leaders: Nationalist Party or PN [Edward FENECH ADAMI]; Malta Labor Party or MLP [Alfred SANT]; Alternativa Demokratika/Alliance for Social Justice or AD [Wenzu MINTOFF]

    International organization participation: C, CCC, CE, EBRD, ECE, EU (applicant), FAO, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IFAD, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ISO (correspondent), ITU, NAM, OPCW, OSCE, PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador (vacant); Charge d'Affaires Anthony DARMANIN
    chancery: 2017 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
    telephone: [1] (202) 462-3611, 3612
    FAX: [1] (202) 387-5470
    consulate(s): New York

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Kathryn Haycock PROFFITT
    embassy: 2nd Floor, Development House, Saint Anne Street, Floriana, Malta
    mailing address: P. O. Box 535, Valletta
    telephone: [356] 235960
    FAX: [356] 223322

    Flag description: two equal vertical bands of white (hoist side) and red; in the upper hoist-side corner is a representation of the George Cross, edged in red

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)