Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
;; Home; Page; Country Index

Mayotte (territorial collectivity of France) Government

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Territorial Collectivity of Mayotte
    conventional short form: Mayotte

    Data code: MF

    Dependency status: territorial collectivity of France

    Government type: NA

    Capital: Mamoutzou

    Administrative divisions: none (territorial collectivity of France)

    Independence: none (territorial collectivity of France)

    National holiday: National Day, Taking of the Bastille, 14 July (1789)

    Constitution: 28 September 1958 (French Constitution)

    Legal system: French law

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Jacques CHIRAC of France (since 17 May 1995), represented by Prefect Philippe BOISADAM (since NA)
    head of government: President of the General Council Younoussa BAMANA (since NA 1977)
    cabinet: NA
    elections: French president elected by popular vote for a seven-year term; prefect appointed by the French president on the advice of the French Ministry of the Interior; president of the General Council elected by the members of the General Council for a six-year term

    Legislative branch: unicameral General Council or Conseil General (19 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve three-year terms)
    elections: last held 23 March 1997 (next to be held NA March 2000)
    election results: percent of vote by party—NA; note—only nine of the 19 seats were subjected to voting in March 1997; after the election, seats by party were as follows: MPM 8, RPR 5, independents 5, PS 1
    note: Mayotte elects one member of the French Senate; elections last held 24 September 1995 (next to be held 24 September 2001); results—percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—MPM 1; Mayotte also elects one member to the French National Assembly; elections last held 25 May and 1 June 1997 (next to be held as a special election on NA May 2002); results—percent of vote by party—UDF/FD 51.7%, RPR 48.3%; seats by party—UDF/FD 1

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court (Tribunal Superieur d'Appel)

    Political parties and leaders: Mahoran Popular Movement or MPM [Younoussa BAMANA]; Mahoran Rally for the Republic or RPR [Mansour KAMARDINE]; Democratic Front or FD [Youssouf MOUSSA]; Association for French Mayotte or Association Pour Mayotte Francaise [Didier BEOUTIS]; Socialist Party or PS (local branch of French Parti Socialiste) [leader NA]; Union for French Democracy or UDF [Henri JEAN-BAPTISTE]

    International organization participation: FZ

    Diplomatic representation in the US: none (territorial collectivity of France)

    Diplomatic representation from the US: none (territorial collectivity of France)

    Flag description: the flag of France is used

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)