Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Montserrat (overseas territory of the UK) Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: none
    conventional short form: Montserrat

    Data code: MH

    Dependency status: overseas territory of the UK

    Government type: NA

    Capital: Plymouth (abandoned in 1997 due to volcanic activity; interim government buildings have been built at Brades, in the Carr's Bay/Little Bay vicinity at the northwest end of Montserrat)

    Administrative divisions: 3 parishes; Saint Anthony, Saint Georges, Saint Peter's

    Independence: none (overseas territory of the UK)

    National holiday: Celebration of the Birthday of the Queen (second Saturday of June)

    Constitution: present constitution came into force 19 December 1989

    Legal system: English common law and statutory law

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor Anthony John ABBOTT (since NA September 1997)
    head of government: Chief Minister David BRANDT (since 22 August 1997)
    cabinet: Executive Council consists of the governor, the chief minister, three other ministers, the attorney general, and the finance secretary
    elections: the monarch is hereditary; governor appointed by the monarch; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party usually becomes chief minister; note—as a result of the last election, a coalition party was formed between NPP, NDP, and one of the independent candidates

    Legislative branch: unicameral Legislative Council (11 seats, 7 popularly elected; members serve five-year terms)
    elections: last held 11 November 1996 (next to be held by NA 2001)
    election results: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—PPA 2, MNR 2, NPP 1, independent 2

    Judicial branch: Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (based in Saint Lucia) (one judge of the Supreme Court is a resident of the islands and presides over the High Court)

    Political parties and leaders: National Progressive Party or NPP [Reuben T. MEADE]; Movement for National Reconstruction or MNR [Percival Austin BRAMBLE]; People's Progressive Alliance or PPA [Bertrand OSBORNE]; National Development Party or NDP [leader NA]

    International organization participation: Caricom, CDB, ECLAC (associate), ICFTU, Interpol (subbureau), OECS, WCL

    Diplomatic representation in the US: none (overseas territory of the UK)

    Diplomatic representation from the US: none (overseas territory of the UK)

    Flag description: blue, with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Montserratian coat of arms centered in the outer half of the flag; the coat of arms features a woman standing beside a yellow harp with her arm around a black cross

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)