Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Mozambique Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of Mozambique
    conventional short form: Mozambique
    local long form: Republica de Mocambique
    local short form: Mocambique

    Data code: MZ

    Government type: republic

    Capital: Maputo

    Administrative divisions: 10 provinces (provincias, singular—provincia); Cabo Delgado, Gaza, Inhambane, Manica, Maputo, Nampula, Niassa, Sofala, Tete, Zambezia

    Independence: 25 June 1975 (from Portugal)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 25 June (1975)

    Constitution: 30 November 1990

    Legal system: based on Portuguese civil law system and customary law

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Joaquim Alberto CHISSANO (since 6 November 1986); note—before being popularly elected, CHISSANO was elected president by Frelimo's Central Committee 4 November 1986 (reelected by the Committee 30 July 1989)
    head of government: Prime Minister Pascoal MOCUMBI (since NA December 1994)
    cabinet: Cabinet
    elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election last held 27 October 1994 (next to be held NA October 1999); prime minister appointed by the president
    election results: Joaquim Alberto CHISSANO elected president; percent of vote—Joaquim CHISSANO 53.3%, Afonso DHLAKAMA 33.3%

    Legislative branch: unicameral Assembly of the Republic or Assembleia da Republica (250 seats; members are directly elected by popular vote on a secret ballot to serve five-year terms)
    elections: last held 27-29 October 1994 (next to be held NA October 1999)
    election results: percent of vote by party—Frelimo 44.33%, Renamo 33.78%, DU 5.15%, other 16.74%; seats by party—Frelimo 129, Renamo 112, DU 9

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court, judges appointed by the president and judges elected by the Assembly

    Political parties and leaders: Front for the Liberation of Mozambique (Frente de Liberatacao de Mocambique) or Frelimo [Joaquim Alberto CHISSANO, chairman]; Mozambique National Resistance (Resistencia Nacional Mocambicana) or Renamo [Afonso DHLAKAMA, president]; Democratic Union or DU [Antonio PALANGE, general secretary]; note—the DU may have broken up into the three parties that composed it—Liberal and Democratic Party of Mozambique, National Democratic Party, and National Party of Mozambique

    International organization participation: ACP, AfDB, C, CCC, ECA, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO (pending member), ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ISO (correspondent), ITU, NAM, OAU, OIC, SADC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Marcos Geraldo NAMASHULUA
    chancery: Suite 570, 1990 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20036
    telephone: [1] (202) 293-7146
    FAX: [1] (202) 835-0245

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Bryan Dean CURRAN
    embassy: Avenida Kenneth Kuanda 193, Maputo
    mailing address: P. O. Box 783, Maputo
    telephone: [258] (1) 492797
    FAX: [258] (1) 490114

    Flag description: three equal horizontal bands of green (top), black, and yellow with a red isosceles triangle based on the hoist side; the black band is edged in white; centered in the triangle is a yellow five-pointed star bearing a crossed rifle and hoe in black superimposed on an open white book

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)