Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Nauru Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of Nauru
    conventional short form: Nauru
    former: Pleasant Island

    Data code: NR

    Government type: republic

    Capital: no official capital; government offices in Yaren District

    Administrative divisions: 14 districts; Aiwo, Anabar, Anetan, Anibare, Baiti, Boe, Buada, Denigomodu, Ewa, Ijuw, Meneng, Nibok, Uaboe, Yaren

    Independence: 31 January 1968 (from the Australia-, New Zealand-, and UK-administered UN trusteeship)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 31 January (1968)

    Constitution: 29 January 1968

    Legal system: acts of the Nauru Parliament and British common law

    Suffrage: 20 years of age; universal and compulsory

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Bernard DOWIYOGO (since 17 June 1998); note—the president is both the chief of state and head of government
    head of government: President Bernard DOWIYOGO (since 17 June 1998); note—the president is both the chief of state and head of government
    cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president from among the members of Parliament
    elections: president elected by Parliament for a three-year term; election last held 17 June 1998 (next to be held NA 2001)
    election results: Bernard DOWIYOGO elected president; percent of Parliament vote—NA
    note: former President Kinza CLODUMAR was deposed in a no-confidence vote

    Legislative branch: unicameral Parliament (18 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve three-year terms)
    elections: last held 8 February 1997 (next to be held NA February 2000)
    election results: percent of vote—NA; seats—independents 18

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court

    Political parties and leaders: loose multi-party system; Nauru Party (informal) [Bernard DOWIYOGO]; Democratic Party [Kennan ADEANG]

    International organization participation: AsDB, C (special), ESCAP, ICAO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), Interpol, IOC, ITU, OPCW, Sparteca, SPC, SPF, UNESCO, UPU, WHO

    Diplomatic representation in the US: Nauru does not have an embassy in the US
    consulate(s): Hagatna (Guam)

    Diplomatic representation from the US: the US does not have an embassy in Nauru; the US Ambassador to Fiji is accredited to Nauru

    Flag description: blue with a narrow, horizontal, yellow stripe across the center and a large white 12-pointed star below the stripe on the hoist side; the star indicates the country's location in relation to the Equator (the yellow stripe) and the 12 points symbolize the 12 original tribes of Nauru

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)