Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
;; Home; Page; Country Index

Netherlands Antilles (part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands) Government

    Country name:
    conventional long form: none
    conventional short form: Netherlands Antilles
    local long form: none
    local short form: Nederlandse Antillen

    Data code: NT

    Dependency status: part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands; full autonomy in internal affairs granted in 1954

    Government type: parliamentary

    Capital: Willemstad

    Administrative divisions: none (part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands)
    note: each island has its own government

    Independence: none (part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands)

    National holiday: Queen's Day, 30 April (1938)

    Constitution: 29 December 1954, Statute of the Realm of the Netherlands, as amended

    Legal system: based on Dutch civil law system, with some English common law influence

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: Queen BEATRIX Wilhelmina Armgard of the Netherlands (since 30 April 1980), represented by Governor General Jaime SALEH (since NA October 1989)
    head of government: Prime Minister Miguel POURIER (since 25 February 1994)
    cabinet: Council of Ministers elected by the Staten
    elections: the monarch is hereditary; governor general appointed by the monarch for a six-year term; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party is usually elected prime minister by the Staten; election last held 30 January 1998 (next to be held by NA 2002)
    election results: Miguel POURIER elected prime minister; percent of legislative vote—NA

    Legislative branch: unicameral States or Staten (22 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
    elections: last held 30 January 1998 (next to be held by NA 2002)
    election results: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—PAR 4, PNP 3, SPA 1, PDB 2, UPB 1, MAN 2, PLKP 3, WIPM 1, SEA 1, DP-St.M 2, FOL 2; no party won enough seats to form a government
    note: the government of Prime Minister Miguel POURIER is a coalition of several parties

    Judicial branch: Joint High Court of Justice (judges appointed by the monarch)

    Political parties and leaders:
    Bonaire: Democratic Party of Bonaire or PDB [Jopi ABRAHAM]; Patriotic Union of Bonaire or UPB [Rudy ELLIS]
    Curacao: Antillean Restructuring Party or PAR [Miguel POURIER]; National People's Party or PNP [Suzy ROMER]; New Antilles Movement or MAN [Domenico Felip Don MARTINA]; Workers' Liberation Front or FOL [Wilson GODETT, Jr.]; Socialist Independent or SI [George HUECK]; Democratic Party of Curacao or DP [Ephraim JONCKHEER]; Nos Patria [Chin BEHILIA]; Social Action Cause or KAS [Benny DEMEI]; Labor Party People's Crusade or PLKP [Errol COVA]; Foundation Energetic Management Anti-Narcotics or FAME [Eric LODEWIJKS]; Pro Curacao Party or PPK [Winston LOURENS]; C 93 [Stanley BROWN]; People's Party or PAPU [Richard HODI]
    Saba: Windward Islands People's Movement or WIPM Saba [Ray HASSELL]; Saba Democratic Labor Movement [Steve HASSELL]; Saba Unity Party [Carmen SIMMONDS]
    Sint Eustatius: Democratic Party of Sint Eustatius or DP-St. E [Julian WOODLEY]; Windward Islands People's Movement or WIPM [leader NA]; St. Eustatius Alliance or SEA [Ingrid WHITFIELD]
    Sint Maarten: Democratic Party of Sint Maarten or DP-St. M [Sarah WESTCOTT-WILLIAMS]; Patriotic Movement of Sint Maarten or SPA [William MARLIN]; Serious Alternative People's Party or SAPP [Julian ROLLOCKS]
    note: political parties are indigenous to each island

    International organization participation: Caricom (observer), ECLAC (associate), Interpol, IOC, UNESCO (associate), UPU, WMO, WToO (associate)

    Diplomatic representation in the US: none (represented by the Kingdom of the Netherlands)

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Consul General James L. WILLIAMS
    consulate(s) general: J.B. Gorsiraweg #1, Curacao
    mailing address: P. O. Box 158, Willemstad, Curacao
    telephone: [599] (9) 4613066
    FAX: [599] (9) 4616489

    Flag description: white, with a horizontal blue stripe in the center superimposed on a vertical red band, also centered; five white, five-pointed stars are arranged in an oval pattern in the center of the blue band; the five stars represent the five main islands of Bonaire, Curacao, Saba, Sint Eustatius, and Sint Maarten

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)