Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
;; Home; Page; Country Index

Niger Government

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of Niger
    conventional short form: Niger
    local long form: Republique du Niger
    local short form: Niger

    Data code: NG

    Government type: republic

    Capital: Niamey

    Administrative divisions: 7 departments (departements, singular—departement), and 1 capital district* (capitale district); Agadez, Diffa, Dosso, Maradi, Niamey*, Tahoua, Tillaberi, Zinder

    Independence: 3 August 1960 (from France)

    National holiday: Republic Day, 18 December (1958)

    Constitution: the constitution of January 1993 was revised by national referendum on 12 May 1996

    Legal system: based on French civil law system and customary law; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Ibrahim BARE Mainassara (since 28 January 1996); note—the president is both chief of state and head of government
    head of government: President Ibrahim BARE Mainassara (since 28 January 1996); note—Ibrahim MAYAKI (since 27 November 1997) was appointed prime minister by the president but does not exercise any executive authority and is only the implementor of the president's programs; the president is both chief of state and head of government
    note: President Ibrahim BARE was assasinated on the 9 April 1999
    cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president
    elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; last held 7-8 July 1996 (next to be held NA 2001); note—Ibrahim BARE Mainassara initially became president when he ousted President Mahamane OUSMANE in a coup on 27 January 1996 and subsequently defeated him in the flawed election of July 1996
    election results: percent of vote—Ibrahim BARE Mainassara 52.22%, Mahamane OUSMANE 19.75%, Tandja MAMADOU 15.65%, Mahamadou ISSOUFOU 7.60%, Moumouni AMADOU Djermakoye 4.77%

    Legislative branch: two-chamber National Assembly; one chamber with 83 seats (members elected by popular vote for five-year terms); selection process for second chamber not established
    elections: last held 23 November 1996 (next to be held NA 2001)
    election results: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—UNIRD 59, ANDPS-Zaman Lahiya 8, UDPS-Amana 3, coalition of independents 3, MDP-Alkwali 1, UPDP-Shamuwa 4, DARAJA 3, PMT-Albarka 2

    Judicial branch: State Court or Cour d'Etat; Court of Appeal or Cour d'Appel

    Political parties and leaders: Alliance for Democracy and Progress or ADP-AUMUNCI [Issoufou BACHARD, chairman]; DARAJA [Ali TALBA, chairman]; Democratic and Social Convention-Rahama or CDS-Rahama [Mahamane OUSMANE]; Movement for Development and Pan-Africanism or MDP-Alkwali [Mai Manga BOUCAR, chairman]; National Movement of the Development Society-Nassara or MNSD-Nassara [Tandja MAMADOU, chairman]; National Union of Independents for Democratic Revival or UNIRD [President Ibrahim BARE Mainassara]; Niger Progressive Party-African Democratic Rally or PPN-RDA [Dandiko KOULODO]; Niger Social Democrat Party or PADN [Malam Adji WAZIRI]; Nigerien Party for Democracy and Socialism-Tarayya or PNDS-Tarayya [Mahamadou ISSOUFOU]; Nigerien Alliance for Democracy and Social Progress-Zaman Lahia or ANDPS-Zaman Lahia [Moumouni Adamou DJERMAKOYE]; PMT-Albarka [Idi Ango OMAR]; Union for Democracy and Social Progress-Amana or UDPS-Amana [Mohamed ABDULLAHI]; Union of Patriots, Democrats, and Progressives-Shamuwa or UPDP-Shamuwa [Professor Andre' SALIFOU, chairman]; Union of Popular Forces for Democracy and Progress-Sawaba or UFPDP-Sawaba [Issoufou ASSOUMANE, secretary general]; Rally for Democracy and Progress or RDP [leader NA]

    International organization participation: ACCT, ACP, AfDB, CCC, ECA, ECOWAS, Entente, FAO, FZ, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ITU, MIPONUH, NAM, OAU, OIC, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WADB, WAEMU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Joseph DIATTA
    chancery: 2204 R Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
    telephone: [1] (202) 483-4224 through 4227

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Charles O. CECIL
    embassy: Rue Des Ambassades, Niamey
    mailing address: B. P. 11201, Niamey
    telephone: [227] 72 26 61 through 72 26 64
    FAX: [227] 73 31 67

    Flag description: three equal horizontal bands of orange (top), white, and green with a small orange disk (representing the sun) centered in the white band; similar to the flag of India, which has a blue spoked wheel centered in the white band

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)