Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Reunion (overseas department of France) Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Department of Reunion
    conventional short form: Reunion
    local long form: none
    local short form: Ile de la Reunion

    Data code: RE

    Dependency status: overseas department of France

    Government type: NA

    Capital: Saint-Denis

    Administrative divisions: none (overseas department of France); there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are four arrondissements, 24 communes, and 47 cantons

    Independence: none (overseas department of France)

    National holiday: National Day, Taking of the Bastille, 14 July (1789)

    Constitution: 28 September 1958 (French Constitution)

    Legal system: French law

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Jacques CHIRAC of France (since 17 May 1995), represented by Prefect Robert POMMIES (since NA 1996)
    head of government: President of the General Council Christophe PAYET (since 4 April 1994) and President of the Regional Council Margarite SUDRE (since 25 June 1993)
    cabinet: NA
    elections: French president elected by popular vote for a seven-year term; prefect appointed by the French president on the advice of the French Ministry of the Interior; the presidents of the General and Regional Councils are elected by the members of those councils

    Legislative branch: unicameral General Council (47 seats; members are elected by direct popular vote to serve six-year terms) and unicameral Regional Council (45 seats; members are elected by direct popular vote to serve six-year terms)
    elections: General Council—last held NA March 1994 (next to be held NA 2000); Regional Council—last held 25 June 1993 (next to be held NA 1999)
    election results: General Council—percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—PCR 12, PS 12, UDF 11, RPR 5, others 7; Regional Council—percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—UPF 17, Free-Dom Movement 13, PCR 9, PS 6
    note: Reunion elects three representatives to the French Senate; elections last held 14 April 1996 (next to be held NA); results—percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—RPR 1, PCR 2; Reunion also elects five deputies to the French National Assembly; elections last held 25 May and 1 June 1997 (next to be held NA2002); results—percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—PCR 3, PS 1, and RPR-UDF 1

    Judicial branch: Court of Appeals or Cour d'Appel

    Political parties and leaders: Rally for the Republic or RPR [Andre Maurice PIHOUEE]; Union for French Democracy or UDF [Ibrahim DINDAN]; Communist Party of Reunion or PCR [Paul VERGES]; France-Reunion Future or FRA [Andre THIEN AH KOON]; Socialist Party or PS [Jean-Claude FRUTEAU]; Center of Social Democrats or CDS [leader NA]; Union for France or UPF (includes RPR and UDF) [leader NA]; Free-DOM Movement [Marguerite SUDRE]; National Front or FN [Alix MOREL]

    International organization participation: FZ, InOC, WFTU

    Diplomatic representation in the US: none (overseas department of France)

    Diplomatic representation from the US: none (overseas department of France)

    Flag description: the flag of France is used

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)