Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Slovakia Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Slovak Republic
    conventional short form: Slovakia
    local long form: Slovenska Republika
    local short form: Slovensko

    Data code: LO

    Government type: parliamentary democracy

    Capital: Bratislava

    Administrative divisions: 8 departments (kraje, singular—kraj); Banskobystricky, Bratislavsky, Kosicky, Nitriansky, Presovsky, Trenciansky, Trnavsky, Zilinsky

    Independence: 1 January 1993 (from Czechoslovakia)

    National holiday: Slovak Constitution Day, 1 September (1992); Anniversary of Slovak National Uprising, 29 August (1944)

    Constitution: ratified 1 September 1992, fully effective 1 January 1993

    Legal system: civil law system based on Austro-Hungarian codes; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction; legal code modified to comply with the obligations of Organization on Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) and to expunge Marxist-Leninist legal theory

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President (vacant); note—President NOVAC retired at the end of his term; the government has announced its intention to hold direct presidential election in early 1999; in the meantime the prime minister takes over the president's duties
    head of government: Prime Minister Mikulas DZURINDA (since 30 October 1998)
    cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president on the recommendation of the prime minister
    elections: president elected by National Council secret ballot that must yield a three-fifths majority for a five-year term; election last held NA March 1998 but no candidate was able to win a three-fifths majority required by law (next to be held NA 1999); following National Council elections, the leader of the majority party or the leader of a majority coalition is usually appointed prime minister by the president
    election results: presidency vacant

    Legislative branch: unicameral National Council of the Slovak Republic or Narodna Rada Slovensky Repubiky (150 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
    elections: last held 25-26 September 1998 (next to be held NA September 2003)
    election results: percent of vote by party—HZDS 27%, SDK 16.3%, SDL 14.7%, SMK 9.1%, SNS 9.1%, SOP 8%; seats by party—governing coalition 93 (SDK 42, SDL 23, SMK 15, SOP 13), opposition 57 (HZDS 43, SNS 14)

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court, judges are elected by the National Council; Constitutional Court

    Political parties and leaders: Movement for a Democratic Slovakia or HZDS [Vladimir MECIAR, chairman]; Slovak Democratic Coalition or SDK (includes KDH, DS, DU, SSDS, SZS) [Mikulas DZURINDA]; Party of the Democratic Left or SDL [Jozef MIGAS, chairman]; Party of the Hungarian Coalition or SMK (includes MKDH, MOS, and Coexistence) [Bela BUGAR]; Slovak National Party or SNS [Jan SLOTA, chairman]; Party of Civic Understanding or SOP [Rudolf SCHUSTER, chairman]; Hungarian Christian Democratic Movement or MKDH [Bela BUGAR]; Hungarian Civic Party or MOS [Laszlo A. NAGY, president]; Coexistence [Miklos DURAY, chairman]; Christian Democratic Movement or KDH [Jan CARNOGURSKY, chairman]; Democratic Union or DU [Jozef MORAVCIK, chairman]; Association of Slovak Workers or ZRS [Jan LUPTAK, chairman]; Social Democratic Party of Slovakia or SSDS [Jaroslav VOLF, chairman]; Party of Greens in Slovakia or SZS [Zdenka TOTHOVA, chairman]; Democratic Party or DS [Jan LANGOS, chairman]

    Political pressure groups and leaders: Party of Entrepreneurs and Businessmen of Slovakia; Christian Social Union; Confederation of Trade Unions or KOZ; Metal Workers Unions or KOVO and METALURG; Association of Employers of Slovakia; Association of Towns and Villages or ZMOS

    International organization participation: Australia Group, BIS, BSEC (observer), CCC, CE, CEI, CERN, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, EU (applicant), FAO, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO, ITU, MONUA, NSG, OPCW, OSCE, PCA, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WEU (associate partner), WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO, ZC

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador-designate Martin BUTORA
    chancery: (temporary) Suite 250, 2201 Wisconsin Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20007
    telephone: [1] (202) 965-5161
    FAX: [1] (202) 965-5166

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Ralph R. JOHNSON
    embassy: Hviezdoslavovo Namestie 4, 81102 Bratislava
    mailing address: use embassy street address
    telephone: [42] (7) 5443-0861, 5443-3338
    FAX: [42] (7) 5443-5439

    Flag description: three equal horizontal bands of white (top), blue, and red superimposed with the Slovak cross in a shield centered on the hoist side; the cross is white centered on a background of red and blue

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)