Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Solomon Islands Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: none
    conventional short form: Solomon Islands
    former: British Solomon Islands

    Data code: BP

    Government type: parliamentary democracy

    Capital: Honiara

    Administrative divisions: 7 provinces and 1 town*; Central, Guadalcanal, Honiara*, Isabel, Makira, Malaita, Temotu, Western
    note: there may be two new provinces of Choiseul (Lauru) and Rennell/Bellona and the administrative unit of Honiara may have been abolished

    Independence: 7 July 1978 (from UK)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 7 July (1978)

    Constitution: 7 July 1978

    Legal system: English common law

    Suffrage: 21 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Moses PITAKAKA (since 10 June 1994)
    head of government: Prime Minister Bartholomew ULUFA'ALU (since 27 August 1997); Deputy Prime Minister Sir Baddeley DEVESI (since 27 August 1997)
    cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the governor general on the advice of the prime minister from among the members of Parliament
    elections: none; the monarch is hereditary; governor general appointed by the monarch on the advice of Parliament for up to five years; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or the leader of a majority coalition is usually elected prime minister by Parliament; deputy prime minister appointed by the governor general on the advice of the prime minister from among the members of Parliament

    Legislative branch: unicameral National Parliament (50 seats; members elected from single member constituencies by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
    elections: last held 6 August 1997 (next to be held by August 2001)
    election results: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—GNUR 21, PAP 7, NAPSI 5, SILP 4, UP 4, independents 6, other 3

    Judicial branch: Court of Appeal

    Political parties and leaders: characterized by fluid coalitions; Liberal Party [Bartholomew ULUFA'ALU]; Solomon Islands National Unity, Reconciliation, and Progressive Party or SINURP [Job Duddley TAUSINGA] (leader of opposition); People's Alliance Party or PAP [leader NA]; Group for National Unity and Reconciliation or GNUR [leader NA]; National Action Party of Solomon Islands or NAPSI [leader NA]; Solomon Islands Labor Party or SILP [leader NA]; United Party or UP [leader NA]; Nationalist Front for Progress or NFP [Andrew NORI]; Labor Party or LP [Joses TUHANUKU]; Christian Fellowship [leader NA]; National Party [leader NA]

    International organization participation: ACP, AsDB, C, ESCAP, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), IOC, ITU, Sparteca, SPC, SPF, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WMO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Stephen Rex HOROI (represents the country as both the Permanent Representative to the UN and the ambassador to the US)
    chancery: 800 Second Avenue, Suite 400L, New York, NY 10017
    telephone: [1] (212) 599-6192, 6193
    FAX: [1] (212) 661-8925

    Diplomatic representation from the US: the US does not have an embassy in Solomon Islands (embassy closed July 1993); the ambassador to Papua New Guinea is accredited to the Solomon Islands

    Flag description: divided diagonally by a thin yellow stripe from the lower hoist-side corner; the upper triangle (hoist side) is blue with five white five-pointed stars arranged in an X pattern; the lower triangle is green

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)