Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • |Indice|
  • English
  • Home PagePerfiles de los Pa�ses

    Bahamas Gobierno 2000

      Nombre del Pa�s:
      conventional long form: Commonwealth of The Bahamas
      conventional short form: The Bahamas

      C�digo: BF

      Tipo de Gobierno: constitutional parliamentary democracy

      Capital: Nassau

      Divisiones Administrativas: 21 districts; Acklins and Crooked Islands, Bimini, Cat Island, Exuma, Freeport, Fresh Creek, Governor's Harbour, Green Turtle Cay, Harbour Island, High Rock, Inagua, Kemps Bay, Long Island, Marsh Harbour, Mayaguana, New Providence, Nicholls Town and Berry Islands, Ragged Island, Rock Sound, Sandy Point, San Salvador and Rum Cay

      Independencia: 10 July 1973 (from UK)

      Feriado Nacional: National Day, 10 July (1973)

      Constituci�n: 10 July 1973

      Sistema Legal: based on English common law

      Sufragio: 18 years of age; universal

      Rama Ejecutiva:
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Sir Orville TURNQUEST (since 2 January 1995)
      head of government: Prime Minister Hubert Alexander INGRAHAM (since 19 August 1992) and Deputy Prime Minister Frank WATSON (since December 1994)
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the governor general on the prime minister's recommendation
      elections: none; the monarch is hereditary; governor general appointed by the monarch; prime minister and deputy prime minister appointed by the governor general

      Rama Legislativa: bicameral Parliament consists of the Senate (16-member body appointed by the governor general upon the advice of the prime minister and the opposition leader for a five-year term) and the House of Assembly (40 seats; members elected by direct popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 14 March 1997 (next to be held by March 2002)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - FNM 35, PLP 5

      Rama Judicial: Supreme Court; Court of Appeal; magistrate's courts

      Partidos Pol�ticos y l�deres: Free National Movement or FNM [Hubert Alexander INGRAHAM]; Progressive Liberal Party or PLP [Perry CHRISTIE]

      Participaci�n de Organizaciones Internacionales: ACP, C, Caricom, CCC, CDB, ECLAC, FAO, G-77, IADB, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ITU, LAES, NAM, OAS, OPANAL, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO (applicant)

      Representantes Diplom�ticos en EU:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Arlington Griffith BUTLER
      chancery: 2220 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 319-2660
      FAX: [1] (202) 319-2668
      consulate(s) general: Miami and New York

      Representantes Dimplom�ticos de EU:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Arthur SCHECHTER
      embassy: Queen Street, Nassau
      mailing address: local or express mail address: P. O. Box N-8197, Nassau; stateside address: American Embassy Nassau, P. O. Box 599009, Miami, FL 33159-9009; pouch address: Nassau, Department of State, Washington, DC 20521-3370
      telephone: [1] (242) 322-1181
      FAX: [1] (242) 356-0222

      Descripci�n de la Bandera: three equal horizontal bands of aquamarine (top), gold, and aquamarine, with a black equilateral triangle based on the hoist side

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Favor de A�ar Esta Pagina a Tus "BOOKMARKS" - - - - -

    Deja tu direci�n electr�nico para recibir un mensaje cuando se cambia la pagina.
    Tu direci�n electr�nico:

    Revisto 01-Nov-00
    Copyright © 2000 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)