Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • |Indice|
  • English
  • Home PagePerfiles de los Pa�ses

    Rep�blica Centroafricana Gobierno 2000

      Nombre del Pa�s:
      conventional long form: Central African Republic
      conventional short form: none
      local long form: Republique Centrafricaine
      local short form: none
      former: Central African Empire
      abbreviation: CAR

      C�digo: CT

      Tipo de Gobierno: republic

      Capital: Bangui

      Divisiones Administrativas: 14 prefectures (prefectures, singular - prefecture), 2 economic prefectures* (prefectures economiques, singular - prefecture economique), and 1 commune**; Bamingui-Bangoran, Bangui**, Basse-Kotto, Gribingui*, Haute-Kotto, Haute-Sangha, Haut-Mbomou, Kemo-Gribingui, Lobaye, Mbomou, Nana-Mambere, Ombella-Mpoko, Ouaka, Ouham, Ouham-Pende, Sangha*, Vakaga

      Independencia: 13 August 1960 (from France)

      Feriado Nacional: National Day, 1 December (1958) (proclamation of the republic)

      Constituci�n: passed by referendum 29 December 1994; adopted 7 January 1995

      Sistema Legal: based on French law

      Sufragio: 21 years of age; universal

      Rama Ejecutiva:
      chief of state: President Ange-Felix PATASSE (since 22 October 1993)
      head of government: Prime Minister Anicet Georges DOLOGUELE (since 4 January 1999)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a six-year term; election last held 19 September 1999 (next to be held NA 2005); prime minister appointed by the president
      election results: Ange-Felix PATASSE reelected president; percent of vote - Ange-Felix PATASSE 51.63%, Andre KOLINGBA 19.38%, David DACKO 11.15%

      Rama Legislativa: unicameral National Assembly or Assemblee Nationale (109 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms; note - there were 85 seats in the National Assembly before the 1998 election)
      elections: last held 22-23 November and 13 December 1998 (next to be held NA 2003)
      election results: percent of vote by party - MLPC 43%, RDC 18%, MDD 9%, FPP 6%, PSD 5%, ADP 4%, PUN 3%, FODEM 2%, PLD 2%, UPR 1%, FC 1%, independents 6%; seats by party - MLPC 47, RDC 20, MDD 8, FPP 7, PSD 6, ADP 5, PUN 3, FODEM 2, PLD 2, UPR 1, FC 1, independents 7; note - results of election are being contested
      note: the National Assembly is advised by the Economic and Regional Council or Conseil Economique et Regional; when they sit together they are called the Congress or Congres

      Rama Judicial: Supreme Court or Cour Supreme, judges appointed by the president; Constitutional Court, judges appointed by the president

      Partidos Pol�ticos y l�deres: Alliance for Democracy and Progress or ADP [leader NA]; Central African Democratic Assembly or RDC [Andre KOLINGBA]; Civic Forum or FC [Gen. Timothee MALENDOMA]; Democratic Forum or FODEM [Charles MASSI]; Liberal Democratic Party or PLD [Nestor KOMBO-NAGUEMON]; Movement for Democracy and Development or MDD [David DACKO]; Movement for the Liberation of the Central African People or MLPC [the party of the president, Ange-Felix PATASSE]; Patriotic Front for Progress or FPP [Abel GOUMBA]; People's Union for the Republic or UPR [leader NA]; National Unity Party or PUN [Jean-Paul NGOUPANDE]; Social Democratic Party or PSD [Enoch LAKOUE]

      Participaci�n de Organizaciones Internacionales: ACCT, ACP, AfDB, BDEAC, CCC, CEEAC, ECA, FAO, FZ, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM, OAU, OIC (observer), OPCW, UDEAC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Representantes Diplom�ticos en EU:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Henri KOBA
      chancery: 1618 22nd Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 483-7800
      FAX: [1] (202) 332-9893

      Representantes Dimplom�ticos de EU:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Robert C. PERRY
      embassy: Avenue David Dacko, Bangui
      mailing address: B. P. 924, Bangui
      telephone: [236] 61 26 21
      FAX: [236] 61 44 94

      Descripci�n de la Bandera: four equal horizontal bands of blue (top), white, green, and yellow with a vertical red band in center; there is a yellow five-pointed star on the hoist side of the blue band

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Favor de A�ar Esta Pagina a Tus "BOOKMARKS" - - - - -

    Deja tu direci�n electr�nico para recibir un mensaje cuando se cambia la pagina.
    Tu direci�n electr�nico:

    Revisto 01-Nov-00
    Copyright © 2000 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)