Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • |Indice|
  • English
  • Home PagePerfiles de los Pa�ses

    Etiop�a Gobierno 2000

      Nombre del Pa�s:
      conventional long form: Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
      conventional short form: Ethiopia
      local long form: Ityop'iya Federalawi Demokrasiyawi Ripeblik
      local short form: Ityop'iya
      abbreviation: FDRE

      C�digo: ET

      Tipo de Gobierno: federal republic

      Capital: Addis Ababa

      Divisiones Administrativas: 9 ethnically-based administrative regions (astedader akababiwach, singular - astedader akabibi) and 2 chartered cities*: Addis Ababa*; Afar; Amhara, Benishangul/Gumaz; Dire Dawa*; Gambela; Harar; Oromia; Somali; Southern Nations, Nationalities, and Peoples Region; Tigray

      Independencia: oldest independent country in Africa and one of the oldest in the world - at least 2,000 years

      Feriado Nacional: National Day, 28 May (1991) (defeat of MENGISTU regime)

      Constituci�n: ratified December 1994; effective 22 August 1995

      Sistema Legal: currently transitional mix of national and regional courts

      Sufragio: 18 years of age; universal

      Rama Ejecutiva:
      chief of state: President NEGASSO Gidada (since 22 August 1995)
      head of government: Prime Minister MELES Zenawi (since NA August 1995)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers as provided for in the December 1994 constitution; ministers are selected by the prime minister and approved by the House of People's Representatives
      elections: president elected by the House of People's Representatives for a six-year term; election last held NA June 1995 (next to be held NA May 2001); prime minister designated by the party in power following legislative elections
      election results: NEGASSO Gidada elected president; percent of vote by the House of People's Representatives - NA

      Rama Legislativa: bicameral Parliament consists of the House of Federation or upper chamber (117 seats; members are chosen by state assemblies to serve five-year terms) and the House of People's Representatives or lower chamber (548 seats; members are directly elected by popular vote from single-member districts to serve five-year terms)
      elections: regional and national popular elections were held in May and June 1995 (next to be held NA May 2000)
      election results: percent of vote - NA; seats - EPRDF 483, regional political groupings 46, independents 8; note - 11 seats unconfirmed
      note: many opposition groups, including the Oromo Liberation Front, boycotted the election

      Rama Judicial: Federal Supreme Court; the president and vice president of the Federal Supreme Court are recommended by the prime minister and appointed by the House of People's Representatives; for other federal judges, the prime minister submits candidates selected by the Federal Judicial Administrative Council to the House of People's Representatives for appointment

      Partidos Pol�ticos y l�deres: All-Amhara People's Organization or AAPO [Dr. ASRAT Woldeyes]; Coalition of Alternative Forces for Peace and Democracy or CAFPD [leader NA]; Ethiopian Democratic Union or EDU [leader NA]; Ethiopian Movement for Democracy, Peace, and Unity or EMDPU [GOSHU Walde]; Ethiopian National Democratic Party or ENDP [NEBIYU Samuel, FEKADU Gedamu]; Ethiopian People's Revolutionary Democratic Front or EPRDF [MELES Zenawi]; Oromo Liberation Front or OLF [GELASA Dilbo]; dozens of small parties

      Grupos de presi�n Pol�ticos y l�deres: Southern Ethiopia People's Democratic Coalition; numerous small, ethnically based groups have formed since the defeat of the former MENGISTU regime in 1991, including several Islamic militant groups

      Participaci�n de Organizaciones Internacionales: ACP, AfDB, CCC, ECA, FAO, G-24, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IGAD, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ISO, ITU, NAM, OAU, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, UNU, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO

      Representantes Diplom�ticos en EU:
      chief of mission: Ambassador BERHANE Gebre-Christos
      chancery: 2134 Kalorama Road NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 234-2281
      FAX: [1] (202) 328-7950

      Representantes Dimplom�ticos de EU:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Tibor P. NAGY
      embassy: Entoto Street, Addis Ababa
      mailing address: P. O. Box 1014, Addis Ababa
      telephone: [251] (1) 550666
      FAX: [251] (1) 551328

      Descripci�n de la Bandera: three equal horizontal bands of green (top), yellow, and red with a yellow pentagram and single yellow rays emanating from the angles between the points on a light blue disk centered on the three bands; Ethiopia is the oldest independent country in Africa, and the colors of her flag were so often adopted by other African countries upon independence that they became known as the pan-African colors

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Favor de A�ar Esta Pagina a Tus "BOOKMARKS" - - - - -

    Deja tu direci�n electr�nico para recibir un mensaje cuando se cambia la pagina.
    Tu direci�n electr�nico:

    Revisto 01-Nov-00
    Copyright © 2000 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)