Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • |Indice|
  • English
  • Home PagePerfiles de los Pa�ses

    Irlanda Gobierno 2000

      Nombre del Pa�s:
      conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: Ireland

      C�digo: EI

      Tipo de Gobierno: republic

      Capital: Dublin

      Divisiones Administrativas: 26 counties; Carlow, Cavan, Clare, Cork, Donegal, Dublin, Galway, Kerry, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Leitrim, Limerick, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Meath, Monaghan, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo, Tipperary, Waterford, Westmeath, Wexford, Wicklow

      Independencia: 6 December 1921 (from UK by treaty)

      Feriado Nacional: Saint Patrick's Day, 17 March

      Constituci�n: 29 December 1937; adopted 1 July 1937 by plebiscite

      Sistema Legal: based on English common law, substantially modified by indigenous concepts; judicial review of legislative acts in Supreme Court; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Sufragio: 18 years of age; universal

      Rama Ejecutiva:
      chief of state: President Mary MCALEESE (since 11 November 1997)
      head of government: Prime Minister Bertie AHERN (since 26 June 1997)
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president with previous nomination by the prime minister and approval of the House of Representatives
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a seven-year term; election last held 31 October 1997 (next to be held NA November 2004); prime minister nominated by the House of Representatives and appointed by the president
      election results: Mary MCALEESE elected president; percent of vote - Mary MCALEESE 44.8%, Mary BANOTTI 29.6%
      note: government coalition - Fianna Fail and the Progressive Democrats

      Rama Legislativa: bicameral Parliament or Oireachtas consists of the Senate or Seanad Eireann (60 seats - 49 elected by the universities and from candidates put forward by five vocational panels, 11 are nominated by the prime minister; members serve five-year terms) and the House of Representatives or Dail Eireann (166 seats; members are elected by popular vote on the basis of proportional representation to serve five-year terms)
      elections: Senate - last held NA August 1997 (next to be held NA 2002); House of Representatives - last held 6 June 1997 (next to be held NA 2002)
      election results: Senate - percent of vote by party - Fianna Fail 29, Fine Gael 16, Labor Party 4, Progressive Democrats 4, others 7; seats by party - NA; House of Representatives - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - Fianna Fail 76, Fine Gael 53, Labor Party 19, Progressive Democrats 4, Democratic Left 4, Green Alliance 2, Sinn Fein 1, independents 7

      Rama Judicial: Supreme Court, judges appointed by the president on the advice of the government (prime minister and cabinet)

      Partidos Pol�ticos y l�deres: Communist Party of Ireland [Michael O'RIORDAN]; Democratic Left [Proinsias DE ROSSA]; Fianna Fail [Bertie AHERN]; Fine Gael [John BRUTON]; Green Alliance [Patricia HOWARD]; Labor Party [Ruairi QUINN]; Progressive Democrats [Mary HARNEY]; Sinn Fein [Gerry ADAMS]; The Workers' Party [Marion DONNELLY]

      Participaci�n de Organizaciones Internacionales: Australia Group, BIS, CCC, CE, EBRD, ECE, EIB, EMU, ESA, EU, FAO, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IEA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ISO, ITU, MINURSO, NAM (guest), NEA, NSG, OECD, OPCW, OSCE, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNFICYP, UNHCR, UNIDO, UNIFIL, UNIKOM, UNITAR, UNMIBH, UNMIK, UNMOP, UNTAET, UNTSO, UPU, WEU (observer), WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO, ZC

      Representantes Diplom�ticos en EU:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Sean O'HUIGINN
      chancery: 2234 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 462-3939
      FAX: [1] (202) 232-5993
      consulate(s) general: Boston, Chicago, New York, and San Francisco

      Representantes Dimplom�ticos de EU:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Michael SULLIVAN
      embassy: 42 Elgin Road, Ballsbridge, Dublin 4
      mailing address: use embassy street address
      telephone: [353] (1) 668-7122
      FAX: [353] (1) 668-9946

      Descripci�n de la Bandera: three equal vertical bands of green (hoist side), white, and orange; similar to the flag of Cote d'Ivoire, which is shorter and has the colors reversed - orange (hoist side), white, and green; also similar to the flag of Italy, which is shorter and has colors of green (hoist side), white, and red

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Favor de A�ar Esta Pagina a Tus "BOOKMARKS" - - - - -

    Deja tu direci�n electr�nico para recibir un mensaje cuando se cambia la pagina.
    Tu direci�n electr�nico:

    Revisto 01-Nov-00
    Copyright © 2000 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)