Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • |Indice|
  • English
  • Home PagePerfiles de los Pa�ses

    Jamaica Gobierno 2000

      Nombre del Pa�s:
      conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: Jamaica

      C�digo: JM

      Tipo de Gobierno: constitutional parliamentary democracy

      Capital: Kingston

      Divisiones Administrativas: 14 parishes; Clarendon, Hanover, Kingston, Manchester, Portland, Saint Andrew, Saint Ann, Saint Catherine, Saint Elizabeth, Saint James, Saint Mary, Saint Thomas, Trelawny, Westmoreland

      Independencia: 6 August 1962 (from UK)

      Feriado Nacional: Independence Day (first Monday in August) (1962)

      Constituci�n: 6 August 1962

      Sistema Legal: based on English common law; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Sufragio: 18 years of age; universal

      Rama Ejecutiva:
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Sir Howard Felix COOKE (since 1 August 1991)
      head of government: Prime Minister Percival James PATTERSON (since 30 March 1992) and Deputy Prime Minister Seymour MULLINGS (since NA 1993)
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the governor general on the advice of the prime minister
      elections: none; the monarch is hereditary; governor general appointed by the monarch on the recommendation of the prime minister; prime minister and deputy prime minister appointed by the governor general

      Rama Legislativa: bicameral Parliament consists of the Senate (a 21-member body appointed by the governor general on the recommendations of the prime minister and the leader of the opposition; ruling party is allocated 13 seats, and the opposition is allocated eight seats) and the House of Representatives (60 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 18 December 1997 (next to be held by March 2002)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - PNP 50, JLP 10

      Rama Judicial: Supreme Court, judges appointed by the governor general on the advice of the prime minister; Court of Appeal

      Partidos Pol�ticos y l�deres: Jamaica Labor Party or JLP [Edward SEAGA]; National Democratic Movement or NDM [Bruce GOLDING]; People's National Party or PNP [P. J. PATTERSON]

      Grupos de presi�n Pol�ticos y l�deres: New Beginnings Movement or NBM; Rastafarians (black religious/racial cultists, pan-Africanists)

      Participaci�n de Organizaciones Internacionales: ACP, C, Caricom, CCC, CDB, ECLAC, FAO, G-15, G-19, G-77, IADB, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO (pending member), ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ISO, ITU, LAES, NAM, OAS, OPANAL, OPCW, UN, UN Security Council (temporary), UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Representantes Diplom�ticos en EU:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Richard Leighton BERNAL
      chancery: 1520 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20036
      telephone: [1] (202) 452-0660
      FAX: [1] (202) 452-0081
      consulate(s) general: Miami and New York

      Representantes Dimplom�ticos de EU:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Stanley Louis MCLELLAND
      embassy: Jamaica Mutual Life Center, 2 Oxford Road, 3rd floor, Kingston
      mailing address: use embassy street address
      telephone: [1] (809) 929-4850 through 4859
      FAX: [1] (809) 926-6743

      Descripci�n de la Bandera: diagonal yellow cross divides the flag into four triangles - green (top and bottom) and black (hoist side and outer side)

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Favor de A�ar Esta Pagina a Tus "BOOKMARKS" - - - - -

    Deja tu direci�n electr�nico para recibir un mensaje cuando se cambia la pagina.
    Tu direci�n electr�nico:

    Revisto 01-Nov-00
    Copyright © 2000 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)