Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • |Indice|
  • English
  • Home PagePerfiles de los Pa�ses

    Malta Gobierno 2000

      Nombre del Pa�s:
      conventional long form: Republic of Malta
      conventional short form: Malta
      local long form: Repubblika ta' Malta
      local short form: Malta

      C�digo: MT

      Tipo de Gobierno: parliamentary democracy

      Capital: Valletta

      Divisiones Administrativas: none (administered directly from Valletta)

      Independencia: 21 September 1964 (from UK)

      Feriado Nacional: Independence Day, 21 September (1964)

      Constituci�n: 1964 constitution substantially amended on 13 December 1974

      Sistema Legal: based on English common law and Roman civil law; has accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction, with reservations

      Sufragio: 18 years of age; universal

      Rama Ejecutiva:
      chief of state: President Guido DE MARCO (since 4 April 1999)
      head of government: Prime Minister Eddie FENECH ADAMI (since 6 September 1998); Deputy Prime Minister Lawrence GONZE (since 4 May 1999)
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president on the advice of the prime minister
      elections: president elected by the House of Representatives for a five-year term; election last held NA April 1999 (next to be held by NA April 2004); following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or leader of a majority coalition is usually appointed prime minister by the president for a five-year term; the deputy prime minister is appointed by the president on the advice of the prime minister
      election results: Guido DE MARCO elected president; percent of House of Representatives vote - NA

      Rama Legislativa: unicameral House of Representatives (usually 65 seats; note - additional seats are given to the party with the largest popular vote to ensure a legislative majority; current total: 65 seats; members are elected by popular vote on the basis of proportional representation to serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 5 September 1998 (next to be held by September 2003)
      election results: percent of vote by party - PN 51.8%, MLP 46.9%, AD 1.2%; seats by party - PN 35, MLP 30

      Rama Judicial: Constitutional Court, judges are appointed by the president on the advice of the prime minister; Court of Appeal, judges are appointed by the president on the advice of the prime minister

      Partidos Pol�ticos y l�deres: Alternativa Demokratika/Alliance for Social Justice or AD [Harry VASSALLO]; Malta Labor Party or MLP [Alfred SANT]; Nationalist Party or PN [Edward FENECH ADAMI]

      Participaci�n de Organizaciones Internacionales: C, CCC, CE, EBRD, ECE, EU (applicant), FAO, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IFAD, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ISO (correspondent), ITU, NAM, OPCW, OSCE, PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Representantes Diplom�ticos en EU:
      chief of mission: Ambassador George SALIBA
      chancery: 2017 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 462-3611, 3612
      FAX: [1] (202) 387-5470
      consulate(s): New York

      Representantes Dimplom�ticos de EU:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Kathryn Haycock PROFFITT
      embassy: 3rd Floor, Development House, Saint Anne Street, Floriana, Malta
      mailing address: P. O. Box 535, Valletta
      telephone: [356] 235960
      FAX: [356] 243229

      Descripci�n de la Bandera: two equal vertical bands of white (hoist side) and red; in the upper hoist-side corner is a representation of the George Cross, edged in red

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Favor de A�ar Esta Pagina a Tus "BOOKMARKS" - - - - -

    Deja tu direci�n electr�nico para recibir un mensaje cuando se cambia la pagina.
    Tu direci�n electr�nico:

    Revisto 01-Nov-00
    Copyright © 2000 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)