Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • |Indice|
  • English
  • Home PagePerfiles de los Pa�ses

    Niger Gobierno 2000

      Nombre del Pa�s:
      conventional long form: Republic of Niger
      conventional short form: Niger
      local long form: Republique du Niger
      local short form: Niger

      C�digo: NG

      Tipo de Gobierno: republic

      Capital: Niamey

      Divisiones Administrativas: 7 departments (departements, singular - departement), and 1 capital district* (capitale district); Agadez, Diffa, Dosso, Maradi, Niamey*, Tahoua, Tillaberi, Zinder

      Independencia: 3 August 1960 (from France)

      Feriado Nacional: Republic Day, 18 December (1958)

      Constituci�n: the constitution of January 1993 was revised by national referendum on 12 May 1996 and again by referendum on 18 July 1999

      Sistema Legal: based on French civil law system and customary law; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Sufragio: 18 years of age; universal

      Rama Ejecutiva:
      chief of state: President Mamadou TANDJA (since 22 December 1999); note - the president is both chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President Mamadou TANDJA (since 22 December 1999); note - the president is both chief of state and head of government; Prime Minister Hama AMADOU (since 31 December 1999) was appointed by the president and shares some executive responsibilities with the president
      note: President Ibrahim BARE was assassinated on 9 April 1999; subsequent elections held under the nine-month provisional government of Major Daouda Mallam WANKE
      cabinet: 24-member cabinet appointed by President TANDJA
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; last held 24 November 1999 (next to be held NA 2004)
      election results: Mamadou TANDJA elected president; percent of vote - Mamadou TANDJA 60%, Mahamadou ISSOUFOU 40%

      Rama Legislativa: unicameral National Assembly (83 seats, members elected by popular vote for five-year terms)
      elections: last held 24 November 1999 (next to be held NA 2004)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - MNSD-Nassara 38, CDS-Rahama 17, PNDS-Tarayya 16, RDP-Jama'a 8, ANDPS-Zaman Lahia 4

      Rama Judicial: State Court or Cour d'Etat; Court of Appeal or Cour d'Appel

      Partidos Pol�ticos y l�deres: Democratic Rally of the People-Jama'a or RDP-Jama'a [Hamid ALGABID]; Democratic and Social Convention-Rahama or CDS-Rahama [Mahamane OUSMANE]; Movement for Development and Progress-Alkwali or MDP-Alkwali [Mai Manga BOUCAR, chairman]; National Movement for a Developing Society-Nassara or MNSD-Nassara [Tandja MAMADOU, chairman]; National Union of Independents for Democratic Renewal or UNIRD [Moutari MOUSSA]; Nigerien Alliance for Democracy and Social Progress-Zaman Lahiya or ANDPS-Zaman Lahiya [Moumouni Adamou DJERMAKOYE]; Nigerien Democratic Front-Mutunci or FDN-Mutunci [Ide OUMAROU]; Nigerien Party for Democracy and Socialism-Tarayya or PNDS-Tarayya [Mahamadou ISSOUFOU]; Nigerien Social Democrat Party-Alheri or PSDN-Alheri [Malam Adji WAZIRI]; Party for People's Dignity-Daraja or PDP-Daraja [Ali TALBA, chairman]; Union of Democratic Patriots and Progressives-Chamoua or UPDP-Chamoua [Professor Andre' SALIFOU, chairman]; Union for Democracy and Social Progress-Amana or UDPS-Amana [Mohamed ABDULLAHI]; Union of Popular Forces for Democracy and Progress-Sawaba or UFPDP-Sawaba [Djibo BAKARY]; Workers' Movement Party-Albarka or PMT-Albarka [Omar Idi ANGO]

      Participaci�n de Organizaciones Internacionales: ACCT, ACP, AfDB, CCC, ECA, ECOWAS, Entente, FAO, FZ, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ITU, MIPONUH, NAM, OAU, OIC, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WADB, WAEMU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Representantes Diplom�ticos en EU:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Joseph DIATTA
      chancery: 2204 R Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 483-4224 through 4227

      Representantes Dimplom�ticos de EU:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Barbro OWENS-KIRKPATRICK
      embassy: Rue Des Ambassades, Niamey
      mailing address: B. P. 11201, Niamey
      telephone: [227] 72 26 61 through 72 26 64
      FAX: [227] 73 31 67

      Descripci�n de la Bandera: three equal horizontal bands of orange (top), white, and green with a small orange disk (representing the sun) centered in the white band; similar to the flag of India, which has a blue spoked wheel centered in the white band

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Favor de A�ar Esta Pagina a Tus "BOOKMARKS" - - - - -

    Deja tu direci�n electr�nico para recibir un mensaje cuando se cambia la pagina.
    Tu direci�n electr�nico:

    Revisto 01-Nov-00
    Copyright © 2000 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)