Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • |Indice|
  • English
  • Home PagePerfiles de los Pa�ses

    Samoa Gobierno 2000

      Nombre del Pa�s:
      conventional long form: Independent State of Samoa
      conventional short form: Samoa
      former: Western Samoa

      C�digo: WS

      Tipo de Gobierno: constitutional monarchy under native chief

      Capital: Apia

      Divisiones Administrativas: 11 districts; A'ana, Aiga-i-le-Tai, Atua, Fa'asaleleaga, Gaga'emauga, Gagaifomauga, Palauli, Satupa'itea, Tuamasaga, Va'a-o-Fonoti, Vaisigano

      Independencia: 1 January 1962 (from New Zealand-administered UN trusteeship)

      Feriado Nacional: National Day, 1 June (1962)

      Constituci�n: 1 January 1962

      Sistema Legal: based on English common law and local customs; judicial review of legislative acts with respect to fundamental rights of the citizen; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Sufragio: 21 years of age; universal

      Rama Ejecutiva:
      chief of state: Chief Susuga MALIETOA Tanumafili II (cochief of state from 1 January 1962 until becoming sole chief of state 5 April 1963)
      head of government: Prime Minister TUILA'EPA Sailele Malielegaoi (since 24 November 1998); note - TUILA'EPA served as deputy prime minister since 1992; he assumed the prime ministership in November 1998 when former Prime Minister TOFILAU Eti Alesana resigned in poor health; the post of deputy prime minister is currently vacant
      cabinet: Cabinet consists of 12 members, appointed by the chief of state with the prime minister's advice
      elections: upon the death of Chief Susuga MALIETOA Tanumafili II, a new chief of state will be elected by the Legislative Assembly to serve a five-year term; prime minister appointed by the chief of state with the approval of the Legislative Assembly

      Rama Legislativa: unicameral Legislative Assembly or Fono (49 seats - 47 elected by Samoans, 2 elected by non-Samoans; only chiefs (matai) may stand for election to the Fono; members serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 26 April 1996 (next to be held by NA April 2001)
      election results: percent of vote by party - HRPP 45.17%, SNDP 27.1%, independents 23.7%; seats by party - HRPP 25, SNDP 13, independents 11

      Rama Judicial: Supreme Court; Court of Appeal

      Partidos Pol�ticos y l�deres: Human Rights Protection Party or HRPP [TUILA'EPA Sailele Malielegaoi, chairman]; Samoa All People's Party or SAPP [Matatumua MAIMOAGA]; Samoan National Development Party or SNDP [TAPUA Tamasese Efi, chairman] (opposition); Samoan Progressive Conservative Party [LEOTA Ituau Ale]

      Participaci�n de Organizaciones Internacionales: ACP, AsDB, C, ESCAP, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), IOC, ITU, OPCW, Sparteca, SPC, SPF, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO

      Representantes Diplom�ticos en EU:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Tuiloma Neroni SLADE
      chancery: 800 Second Avenue, Suite 400D, New York, NY 10017
      telephone: [1] (212) 599-6196, 6197
      FAX: [1] (212) 599-0797

      Representantes Dimplom�ticos de EU:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Carol MOSELEY BRAUN (Ambassador to New Zealand and Samoa, resides in Wellington, New Zealand)
      embassy: 5th floor, Beach Road, Apia
      mailing address: P. O. Box 3430, Apia
      telephone: [685] 21631
      FAX: [685] 22030

      Descripci�n de la Bandera: red with a blue rectangle in the upper hoist-side quadrant bearing five white five-pointed stars representing the Southern Cross constellation

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Favor de A�ar Esta Pagina a Tus "BOOKMARKS" - - - - -

    Deja tu direci�n electr�nico para recibir un mensaje cuando se cambia la pagina.
    Tu direci�n electr�nico:

    Revisto 01-Nov-00
    Copyright © 2000 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)