Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Brunei Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Negara Brunei Darussalam
    conventional short form: Brunei

    Data code: BX

    Government type: constitutional sultanate

    Capital: Bandar Seri Begawan

    Administrative divisions: 4 districts (daerah-daerah, singular—daerah); Belait, Brunei and Muara, Temburong, Tutong

    Independence: 1 January 1984 (from UK)

    National holiday: National Day, 23 February (1984)

    Constitution: 29 September 1959 (some provisions suspended under a State of Emergency since December 1962, others since independence on 1 January 1984)

    Legal system: based on English common law; for Muslims, Islamic Shari'a law supersedes civil law in a number of areas

    Suffrage: none

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: Sultan and Prime Minister His Majesty Paduka Seri Baginda Sultan Haji HASSANAL Bolkiah Mu'izzaddin Waddaulah (since 5 October 1967); note—the monarch is both the chief of state and head of government
    head of government: Sultan and Prime Minister His Majesty Paduka Seri Baginda Sultan Haji HASSANAL Bolkiah Mu'izzaddin Waddaulah (since 5 October 1967); note—the monarch is both the chief of state and head of government
    cabinet: Council of Cabinet Ministers appointed and presided over by the monarch; deals with executive matters
    note: there is also a Religious Council (members appointed by the monarch) that advises on religious matters, a Privy Council (members appointed by the monarch) that deals with constitutional matters, and the Council of Succession (members appointed by the monarch) that determines the succession to the throne if the need arises
    elections: none; the monarch is hereditary

    Legislative branch: unicameral Legislative Council or Majlis Masyuarat Megeri (a privy council that serves only in a consultative capacity; NA seats; members appointed by the monarch)
    elections: last held in March 1962
    note: in 1970 the Council was changed to an appointive body by decree of the monarch; an elected Legislative Council is being considered as part of constitutional reform, but elections are unlikely for several years

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court, chief justice and judges are sworn in by the monarch for three-year terms

    Political parties and leaders: Brunei Solidarity National Party or PPKB in Malay [Haji Mohd HATTA bin Haji Zainal Abidin, president]; the PPKB is the only legal political party in Brunei; it was registered in 1985, but became largely inactive after 1988; it has less than 200 registered party members; other parties include Brunei People's Party or PRB (banned in 1962) and Brunei National Democratic Party (registered in May 1985, deregistered by the Brunei Government in 1988)

    International organization participation: APEC, ASEAN, C, CCC, ESCAP, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDB, IFRCS, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ISO (correspondent), ITU, NAM, OIC, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Pengiran Anak Dato Haji PUTEH Ibni Mohammad Alam
    chancery: Watergate, Suite 300, 3rd floor, 2600 Virginia Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20037
    telephone: [1] (202) 342-0159
    FAX: [1] (202) 342-0158

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Glen Robert RASE
    embassy: Third Floor, Teck Guan Plaza, Jalan Sultan, Bandar Seri Begawan
    mailing address: PSC 470 (BSB), FPO AP 96534-0001
    telephone: [673] (2) 229670
    FAX: [673] (2) 225293

    Flag description: yellow with two diagonal bands of white (top, almost double width) and black starting from the upper hoist side; the national emblem in red is superimposed at the center; the emblem includes a swallow-tailed flag on top of a winged column within an upturned crescent above a scroll and flanked by two upraised hands

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)