Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Armenia Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of Armenia
    conventional short form: Armenia
    local long form: Hayastani Hanrapetut'yun
    local short form: Hayastan
    former: Armenian Soviet Socialist Republic; Armenian Republic

    Data code: AM

    Government type: republic

    Capital: Yerevan

    Administrative divisions: 10 provinces (marzer, singular—marz) and 1 city* (k'aghak'ner, singular—k'aghak'); Aragatsotn, Ararat, Armavir, Geghark'unik', Kotayk', Lorri, Shirak, Syunik', Tavush, Vayots' Dzor, Yerevan*

    Independence: 28 May 1918-2 December 1920 (First Armenian Republic); 23 September 1991 (from Soviet Union)

    National holiday: Referendum Day, 21 September

    Constitution: adopted by nationwide referendum 5 July 1995

    Legal system: based on civil law system

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Robert KOCHARIAN (since 30 March 1998)
    head of government: Prime Minister Armen DARBINYAN (since 10 April 1998)
    cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the prime minister
    elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; special election last held 30 March 1998 (next election to be held March 2003); prime minister appointed by the president
    election results: Robert KOCHARIAN elected president; percent of vote—Robert KOCHARIAN 59%, Karen DEMIRCHYAN 41%

    Legislative branch: unicameral National Assembly (Parliament) or Azgayin Zhoghov (190 seats; members serve four-year terms)
    elections: last held 5 July 1995 (next to be held in the spring of 1999)
    election results: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—Republican Bloc 159 (ANM 63, DLP-Hanrapetutyun Bloc 6, Republic Party 4, CDU 3, Intellectual Armenia 3, Social Democratic Party 2, independents 78), SWM 8, ACP 7, NDU 5, NSDU 3, DLP 1, ARF 1, other 4, vacant 2; note—seats by party change frequently

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court; Constitutional Court

    Political parties and leaders: Armenian National Movement or ANM [Vano SIRADEGIAN, chairman]; National Democratic Union or NDU [Vazgen MANUKIAN]; Intellectual Armenia [H. TOKMAJIAN]; Social Democratic (Hnchakian) Party [Yeghia NACHARIAN]; Shamiram Women's Movement or SWM [Maria NERSISSIAN]; Armenian Communist Party or ACP [Sergey BADALYAN]; Union of National Self-Determination or NSDU [Paruir HAIRIKIAN, chairman]; Armenian Revolutionary Federation ("Dashnak" Party) or ARF [leader NA]; Christian Democratic Union or CDU [Azat ARSHAKYN, chairman]; Democratic Liberal Party [Orthosis GYONJIAN, chairman]; Republican Party [Andranik MARKARYAN]; People's Party of Armenia [Karen DEMIRCHYAN]; National Democratic 21st Century Party [David SHAKHAZARYAN]; Yerkrapah Parliamentary Group [Smbat AYVAZYAN]

    International organization participation: BSEC, CCC, CE (guest), CIS, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, ESCAP, FAO, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO, ITU, NAM (observer), OPCW, OSCE, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO (applicant)

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Rouben R. SHUGARIAN
    chancery: 2225 R Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
    telephone: [1] (202) 319-1976
    FAX: [1] (202) 319-2982
    consulate(s) general: Los Angeles

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Michael LEMMON
    embassy: 18 General Bagramian Avenue, Yerevan
    mailing address: American Embassy Yerevan, Department of State, Washington, DC 20521-7020
    telephone: [374] (2) 151-551
    FAX: [374] (2) 151-550

    Flag description: three equal horizontal bands of red (top), blue, and gold

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)