Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Eritrea Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: State of Eritrea
    conventional short form: Eritrea
    local long form: Hagere Ertra
    local short form: Ertra
    former: Eritrea Autonomous Region in Ethiopia

    Data code: ER

    Government type: transitional government
    note: following a successful referendum on independence for the Autonomous Region of Eritrea on 23-25 April 1993, a National Assembly, composed entirely of the People's Front for Democracy and Justice or PFDJ, was established as a transitional legislature; a Constitutional Commission was also established to draft a constitution; ISAIAS Afworki was elected president by the transitional legislature

    Capital: Asmara (formerly Asmera)

    Administrative divisions: 8 provinces (singular—awraja); Akale Guzay, Barka, Denkel, Hamasen, Sahil, Semhar, Senhit, Seraye
    note: in May 1995 the National Assembly adopted a resolution stating that the administrative structure of Eritrea, which had been established by former colonial powers, would consist of only six provinces when the new constitution, then being drafted, became effective in 1997; the new provinces, the names of which had not been recommended by the US Board on Geographic Names for recognition by the US Government, pending acceptable definition of the boundaries, were: Anseba, Debub, Debubawi Keyih Bahri, Gash-Barka, Maakel, and Semanawi Keyih Bahri; more recently, it has been reported that these provinces have been redesignated regions and renamed Southern Red Sea, Northern Red Sea, Anseba, Gash-Barka, Southern, and Central

    Independence: 24 May 1993 (from Ethiopia; formerly the Eritrea Autonomous Region)

    National holiday: National Day (independence from Ethiopia), 24 May (1993)

    Constitution: the transitional constitution, decreed on 19 May 1993, was replaced by a new constitution that was promulgated in May 1997

    Legal system: NA

    Suffrage: NA; note—it seems likely that the final version of the constitution would follow the example set in the referendum of 1993 and extend suffrage to all persons 18 years of age or older

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President ISAIAS Afworki (since 8 June 1993); note—the president is both the chief of state and head of government
    head of government: President ISAIAS Afworki (since 8 June 1993); note—the president is both the chief of state and head of government
    cabinet: State Council is the collective executive authority
    note: the president is head of the State Council and National Assembly
    elections: president elected by the National Assembly; election last held 8 June 1993 (next to be held NA)
    election results: ISAIAS Afworki elected president; percent of National Assembly vote—ISAIAS Afworki 95%

    Legislative branch: unicameral National Assembly (150 seats; term limits not established)
    elections: in May 1997, following the adoption of the new constitution, 75 members of the PFDJ Central Committee (the old Central Committee of the EPLF), 60 members of the 527-member Constituent Assembly which had been established in 1997 to discuss and ratify the new constitution, and 15 representatives of Eritreans living abroad were formed into a Transitional National Assembly to serve as the country's legislative body until country-wide elections to a National Assembly are held; only 75 members will be elected to the National Assembly—the other 75 will be members of the Central Committee of the PFDJ

    Judicial branch: the Supreme Court; 10 provincial courts; 29 district courts

    Political parties and leaders: People's Front for Democracy and Justice or PFDJ, the only party recognized by the government [ISAIAS Afworki, PETROS Solomon]

    Political pressure groups and leaders: Eritrean Islamic Jihad or EIJ; Eritrean Liberation Front or ELF [ABDULLAH Muhammed]; Eritrean Liberation Front-United Organization or ELF-UO [Mohammed Said NAWUD]; Eritrean Liberation Front-Revolutionary Council or ELF-RC [Ahmed NASSER]

    International organization participation: ACP, AfDB, CCC, ECA, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IGAD, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), ITU, NAM, OAU, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador SEMERE Russom
    chancery: 1708 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20009
    telephone: [1] (202) 319-1991
    FAX: [1] (202) 319-1304

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador William CLARK
    embassy: Franklin D. Roosevelt Street, Asmara
    mailing address: P.O. Box 211, Asmara
    telephone: [291] (1) 120004
    FAX: [291] (1) 127584

    Flag description: red isosceles triangle (based on the hoist side) dividing the flag into two right triangles; the upper triangle is green, the lower one is blue; a gold wreath encircling a gold olive branch is centered on the hoist side of the red triangle

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)