Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Moldova Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of Moldova
    conventional short form: Moldova
    local long form: Republica Moldova
    local short form: none
    former: Soviet Socialist Republic of Moldova; Moldavia

    Data code: MD

    Government type: republic

    Capital: Chisinau

    Administrative divisions: 40 raions (singular—raion) and 4 municipalities*; Anenii Noi, Balti*, Basarabeasca, Bender*, Briceni, Cahul, Cainari, Calarasi, Camenca, Cantemir, Causeni, Ceadir-Lunga, Chisinau*, Cimislia, Comrat, Criuleni, Donduseni, Drochia, Dubasari, Edinet, Falesti, Floresti, Glodeni, Grigoriopol, Hincesti, Ialoveni, Leova, Nisporeni, Ocnita, Orhei, Rezina, Ribnita, Riscani, Singerei, Slobozia, Soldanesti, Soroca, Stefan-Voda, Straseni, Taraclia, Telenesti, Tiraspol*, Ungheni, Vulcanesti
    note: in accordance with the Law on Territorial Administrative Reform, the 40 raions have been reorganized into 9 counties (judets), one municipality*, and 2 territorial units**: Baltsi, Cahul, Chisinau, Chisinau*, Dubossary district (Transnistria)**, Edinets, Gagauzia**, Lapushna, Orhei, Soroca, Tighina, Ungheni; the status of the Dubossary district is still under negotiation

    Independence: 27 August 1991 (from Soviet Union)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 27 August 1991

    Constitution: new constitution adopted 28 July 1994; replaces old Soviet constitution of 1979

    Legal system: based on civil law system; Constitutional Court reviews legality of legislative acts and governmental decisions of resolution; it is unclear if Moldova accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction but accepts many UN and Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) documents

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Petru LUCINSCHI (since 15 January 1997)
    head of government: Prime Minister Ion CIUBUC (since 15 January 1997) and four deputy prime ministers
    cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president on the recommendation of the prime minister
    elections: president elected by popular vote for a four-year term; election last held 17 November 1996; runoff election 1 December 1996 (next to be held NA November 2000); following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or leader of the majority coalition is usually elected prime minister by Parliament; names of deputy prime ministers are submitted by the prime minister for acceptance by the president
    election results: Petru LUCINSCHI ran against Mircea SNEGUR and was elected president; percent of vote—LUCINSCHI 54%, SNEGUR 46%; Prime Minister Ion CIUBUC was appointed by the president 15 January 1997 and was elected by a parliamentary vote of 75-15 on 24 January 1997

    Legislative branch: unicameral Parliament or Parlamentul (101 seats; members are directly elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
    elections: last held 22 March 1998 (next to be held spring 2002)
    election results: percent of vote by party—PCM 30%, CDM 19%, PMDP 18%, PFD 9%; seats by party—PCM 40, CDM 26, PMDP 24, PFD 11
    note: the comparative breakdown of seats by faction is approximate

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court

    Political parties and leaders: Communist Party or PCM [Vladimir VORONIN, first chairman]; The Democratic Convention or CDM (includes the Christian Democratic Popular Front or FPCD and the Party of Rivival and Conciliation or PRC) [Mircea SNEGUR and Iurie ROSCA, chairmen]; Party of Democratic Forces or PFD [Valeriu MATEI, chairman]; Bloc for a Democratic and Prosperous Moldova or PMDP [Dumitru DIACOV]; Socialist Unity Faction or US of the Socialist Party of Moldova or PSM [leader NA]; Social Democratic Party of Moldova or PSDM [Oazu NANTOI, chairman]; Agrarian Democratic Party of Moldova or PDAM [Dumitru MOTPAN, chairman]; Peasants and Intellectuals Bloc [Lidia ISTRATI, chairwoman]; Liberal Party of Moldova or PLM [Mircea RUSU, chairman]; Socialist Party of Moldova or PSM [Valeriu SENIC and Victor MOREV, cochairmen]; Party for Social Progress or PPSM [Eugen SOBOR, chairman]; Civic Unity [Vladimir SOLONARI]; Moldovan National Peasant Party or PNTM [Simeon CERTAN]; Party of People's Social Justice [Maricica LITVITCHI]

    Political pressure groups and leaders: The Ecology Movement of Moldova or EMM [Alecu RENITSA, chairman]; The Christian Democratic League of Women of Moldova or CDLWM [Lidia ISTRATI, chairwoman]; National Christian Party of Moldova or NCPM [V. NIKU, leader]; The Peoples Movement Gagauz Khalky or GKh [S. GULGAR, leader]; The Democratic Party of Gagauzia or DPG [G. SAVOSTIN, chairman]; The Alliance of Working People of Moldova or AWPM [G. POLOGOV, president]; Liberal Convention of Moldova (now the Liberal Party); Association of Victims of Repression [Alexander USATIUC]; Christian Democratic Youth Organization [Valeriu BARBA]; National Youth League [Valeriu STRELETS]; Union of Youth of Moldova [Petru GAVTON]

    International organization participation: ACCT, BIS, BSEC, CCC, CE, CEI, CIS, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, FAO, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, IDA, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ISO (correspondent), ITU, OPCW, OSCE, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO (applicant)

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Ceslav CIOBANU
    chancery: 2101 S Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
    telephone: [1] (202) 667-1130
    FAX: [1] (202) 667-1204

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Rudolf Villem PERINA
    embassy: Strada Alexei Mateevicie, #103, Chisinau 2009
    mailing address: use embassy street address; pouch address—American Embassy Chisinau, Department of State, Washington, DC 20521-7080
    telephone: [373] (2) 23-37-72
    FAX: [373] (2) 23-30-44

    Flag description: same color scheme as Romania—three equal vertical bands of blue (hoist side), yellow, and red; emblem in center of flag is of a Roman eagle of gold outlined in black with a red beak and talons carrying a yellow cross in its beak and a green olive branch in its right talons and a yellow scepter in its left talons; on its breast is a shield divided horizontally red over blue with a stylized ox head, star, rose, and crescent all in black-outlined yellow

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)