Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Sierra Leone Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of Sierra Leone
    conventional short form: Sierra Leone

    Data code: SL

    Government type: constitutional democracy

    Capital: Freetown

    Administrative divisions: 3 provinces and 1 area*; Eastern, Northern, Southern, Western*

    Independence: 27 April 1961 (from UK)

    National holiday: Republic Day, 27 April (1961)

    Constitution: 1 October 1991; subsequently amended several times

    Legal system: based on English law and customary laws indigenous to local tribes; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Ahmad Tejan KABBAH (since 29 March 1996, reinstated 10 March 1998); note—the president is both the chief of state and head of
    head of government: President Ahmad Tejan KABBAH (since 29 March 1996, reinstated 10 March 1998); note—the president is both the chief of state and head of
    cabinet: Ministers of State appointed by the president with the approval of the House of Representatives; the cabinet is responsible to the president
    elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election held 26-27 February 1996 (next to be held NA 2001); note—president's tenure of office is limited to two five-year terms
    election results: Ahmad Tejan KABBAH elected president; percent of vote—first round—KABBAH 36.0%, second round—KABBAH 59.5%

    Legislative branch: unicameral House of Representatives (80 seats—68 elected by popular vote, 12 filled by paramount chiefs elected in separate elections; members serve five-year terms)
    elections: last held 26-27 February 1996 (next to be held 2001)
    election results: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—SLPP 27, UNPP 17, PDP 12, APC 5, NUP 4, DCP 3; note—first elections since the former House of Representatives was shut down by the military coup of 29 April 1992

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court

    Political parties and leaders: 15 parties registered for the February 1996 elections; National People's Party or NPP [Andrew TURAY]; Democratic Center Party or DCP [Abu KOROMA]; People's Progressive Party or PPP [Abass Chernok BUNDU, chairman]; Coalition for Progress Party or CPP [Geredine WILLIAMS-SARHO]; National Unity Movement or NUM [John Desmond Fashole LUKE]; United National People's Party or UNPP [John KARIFA-SMART]; People's Democratic Party or PDP [Thaimu BANGURA, chairman]; All People's Congress or APC [Edward Mohammed TURAY, chairman]; National Republican Party or NRP [Sahr Stephen MAMBU]; Social Democratic Party or SDP [Andrew Victor LUNGAY]; People's National Convention or PNC [Edward John KARGBO, chairman]; National Unity Party or NUP [Dr. John KARIMU, chairman]; Sierra Leone People's Party or SLPP [President Ahmad Tejan KABBAH, chairman]; National Democratic Alliance or NDA [Amadu M. B. JALLOH]; National Alliance for Democracy Party or NADP [Mohamed Yahya SILLAH]

    International organization participation: ACP, AfDB, C, CCC, ECA, ECOWAS, FAO, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM, OAU, OIC, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador John Ernest LEIGH
    chancery: 1701 19th Street NW, Washington, DC 20009
    telephone: [1] (202) 939-9261 through 9263
    FAX: [1] (202) 483-1793

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Joseph MELROSE; note—embassy closed in late December 1998
    embassy: Corner of Walpole and Siaka Stevens Streets, Freetown
    mailing address: use embassy street address
    telephone: [232] (22) 226481 through 226485
    FAX: [232] (22) 225471

    Flag description: three equal horizontal bands of light green (top), white, and light blue

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)