Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Tanzania Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: United Republic of Tanzania
    conventional short form: Tanzania
    former: United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar

    Data code: TZ

    Government type: republic

    Capital: Dar es Salaam
    note: some government offices have been transferred to Dodoma, which is planned as the new national capital; the National Assembly now meets there on regular basis

    Administrative divisions: 25 regions; Arusha, Dar es Salaam, Dodoma, Iringa, Kigoma, Kilimanjaro, Lindi, Mara, Mbeya, Morogoro, Mtwara, Mwanza, Pemba North, Pemba South, Pwani, Rukwa, Ruvuma, Shinyanga, Singida, Tabora, Tanga, Zanzibar Central/South, Zanzibar North, Zanzibar Urban/West, Ziwa Magharibi
    note: Ziwa Magharibi may have been renamed Kagera

    Independence: 26 April 1964; Tanganyika became independent 9 December 1961 (from UK-administered UN trusteeship); Zanzibar became independent 19 December 1963 (from UK); Tanganyika united with Zanzibar 26 April 1964 to form the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar; renamed United Republic of Tanzania 29 October 1964

    National holiday: Union Day, 26 April (1964)

    Constitution: 25 April 1977; major revisions October 1984

    Legal system: based on English common law; judicial review of legislative acts limited to matters of interpretation; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Benjamin William MKAPA (since 23 November 1995); Vice President Omar Ali JUMA (since 23 November 1995); note the president is both chief of state and head of government
    head of government: President Benjamin William MKAPA (since 23 November 1995); Vice President Omar Ali JUMA (since 23 November 1995); note—the president is both chief of state and head of government
    note: Zanzibar elects a president who is head of government for matters internal to Zanzibar; Dr. Salmin AMOUR was elected to that office on 22 October 1995 in a popular election
    cabinet: Cabinet ministers, including the prime minister, are appointed by the president from among the members of the National Assembly
    elections: president and vice president elected on the same ballot by popular vote for five-year terms; election last held 29 October-19 November 1995 (next to be held NA October 2000); prime minister appointed by the president
    election results: percent of vote—Benjamin William MKAPA 62%, MREMA 28%, LIPUMBA 6%, CHEYO 4%

    Legislative branch: unicameral National Assembly or Bunge (274 seats—232 elected by popular vote, 37 allocated to women nominated by the president, five to members of the Zanzibar House of Representatives; members serve five-year terms); note —in addition to enacting laws that apply to the entire United Republic of Tanzania, the Assembly enacts laws that apply only to the mainland; Zanzibar has its own House of Representatives to make laws especially for Zanzibar (the Zanzibar House of Representatives has 50 seats, directly elected by universal suffrage to serve five-year terms)
    elections: last held 29 October-19 November 1995 (next to be held NA October 2000)
    election results: National Assembly: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—CCM 186, CUF 24, NCCR-Mageuzi 16, CHADEMA 3, UDP 3; Zanzibar House of Representatives: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—CCM 26, CUF 24

    Judicial branch: Court of Appeal; High Court, judges appointed by the president

    Political parties and leaders: Chama Cha Mapinduzi or CCM (Revolutionary Party) [Benjamin William MKAPA]; Civic United Front or CUF [Seif Sharif HAMAD]; National Convention for Construction and Reform or NCCR [Lyatonga (Augustine) MREMA]; Union for Multiparty Democracy or UMD [Abdullah FUNDIKIRA]; Chama Cha Demokrasia na Maendeleo or CHADEMA [Edwin I. M. MTEI, chairman]; Democratic Party (unregistered) [Reverend MTIKLA]; United Democratic Party or UDP [John CHEYO]

    International organization participation: ACP, AfDB, C, CCC, EADB, ECA, FAO, G- 6, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ISO, ITU, MONUA, NAM, OAU, OPCW, SADC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Mustafa Salim NYANG'ANYI
    chancery: 2139 R Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
    telephone: [1] (202) 518-6647
    FAX: [1] (202) 797-7408

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Charles R. STITH
    embassy: 285 Toure Drive, Dar es Salaam (temporary location)
    mailing address: P. O. Box 9123, Dar es Salaam
    telephone: [255] (51) 666010 through 666015
    FAX: [255] (51) 666701

    Flag description: divided diagonally by a yellow-edged black band from the lower hoist-side corner; the upper triangle (hoist side) is green and the lower triangle is blue

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - - - USA Immigration Services. U.S Green Cards, Visas, Citizenship, Green Card Lottery, INS Forms, Immigration Information.

    Revised 1-Mar-99
    Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)