Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • |Indice|
  • English
  • Home PagePerfiles de los Pa�ses

    Bhut�n Gobierno 2000

      Nombre del Pa�s:
      conventional long form: Kingdom of Bhutan
      conventional short form: Bhutan

      C�digo: BT

      Tipo de Gobierno: monarchy; special treaty relationship with India

      Capital: Thimphu

      Divisiones Administrativas: 18 districts (dzongkhag, singular and plural); Bumthang, Chhukha, Chirang, Daga, Geylegphug, Ha, Lhuntshi, Mongar, Paro, Pemagatsel, Punakha, Samchi, Samdrup Jongkhar, Shemgang, Tashigang, Thimphu, Tongsa, Wangdi Phodrang

      Independencia: 8 August 1949 (from India)

      Feriado Nacional: National Day, 17 December (1907) (Ugyen WANGCHUCK became first hereditary king)

      Constituci�n: no written constitution or bill of rights
      note: Bhutan uses 1953 Royal decree for the Constitution of the National Assembly; on 7 July 1998, a Royal edict was ratified giving the National Assembly additional powers

      Sistema Legal: based on Indian law and English common law; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Sufragio: each family has one vote in village-level elections

      Rama Ejecutiva:
      chief of state: King Jigme Singye WANGCHUCK (since 24 July 1972)
      head of government: Foreign Minister Jigme Yoeser THINLEY (since NA June 1998)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers (Lhengye Shungtsog) nominated by the monarch, approved by the National Assembly; members serve fixed, five-year terms
      note: there is also a Royal Advisory Council (Lodoi Tsokde), members nominated by the monarch
      elections: none; the monarch is hereditary, but democratic reforms in July 1998 give the National Assembly authority to remove the monarch with two-thirds vote

      Rama Legislativa: unicameral National Assembly or Tshogdu (150 seats; 105 elected from village constituencies, 10 represent religious bodies, and 35 are designated by the monarch to represent government and other secular interests; members serve three-year terms)
      elections: last held NA (next to be held NA)
      election results: NA

      Rama Judicial: the Supreme Court of Appeal is the monarch; High Court, judges appointed by the monarch

      Partidos Pol�ticos y l�deres: no legal parties

      Grupos de presi�n Pol�ticos y l�deres: Buddhist clergy; ethnic Nepalese organizations leading militant antigovernment campaign; Indian merchant community; United Front for Democracy (exiled)

      Participaci�n de Organizaciones Internacionales: AsDB, CP, ESCAP, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IFAD, IMF, Intelsat, IOC, ITU, NAM, OPCW, SAARC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WHO, WIPO

      Representantes Diplom�ticos en EU: none; note - Bhutan has a Permanent Mission to the UN; address: 2 United Nations Plaza, 27th Floor, New York, NY 10017; telephone [1] (212) 826-1919; the Bhutanese mission to the UN has consular jurisdiction in the US
      consulate(s) general: New York

      Representantes Dimplom�ticos de EU: the US and Bhutan have no formal diplomatic relations, although informal contact is maintained between the Bhutanese and US Embassy in New Delhi (India)

      Descripci�n de la Bandera: divided diagonally from the lower hoist side corner; the upper triangle is yellow and the lower triangle is orange; centered along the dividing line is a large black and white dragon facing away from the hoist side

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Favor de A�ar Esta Pagina a Tus "BOOKMARKS" - - - - -

    Deja tu direci�n electr�nico para recibir un mensaje cuando se cambia la pagina.
    Tu direci�n electr�nico:

    Revisto 01-Nov-00
    Copyright © 2000 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)