Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • |Indice|
  • English
  • Home PagePerfiles de los Pa�ses

    Finlandia Gobierno 2000

      Nombre del Pa�s:
      conventional long form: Republic of Finland
      conventional short form: Finland
      local long form: Suomen Tasavalta
      local short form: Suomi

      C�digo: FI

      Tipo de Gobierno: republic

      Capital: Helsinki

      Divisiones Administrativas: 6 provinces (laanit, singular - laani); Aland, Etela-Suomen Laani, Ita-Suomen Laani, Lansi-Suomen Laani, Lappi, Oulun Laani

      Independencia: 6 December 1917 (from Russia)

      Feriado Nacional: Independence Day, 6 December (1917)

      Constituci�n: 17 July 1919

      Sistema Legal: civil law system based on Swedish law; Supreme Court may request legislation interpreting or modifying laws; accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction, with reservations

      Sufragio: 18 years of age; universal

      Rama Ejecutiva:
      chief of state: President Tarja HALONEN (since 1 March 2000)
      head of government: Prime Minister Paavo LIPPONEN (since 13 April 1995) and Deputy Prime Minister Sauli NIINISTO (since 13 April 1995)
      cabinet: Council of State or Valtioneuvosto appointed by the president, responsible to Parliament
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a six-year term; election last held 6 February 2000 (next to be held NA February 2006); prime minister and deputy prime minister appointed from the majority party by the president after parliamentary elections
      election results: Tarja HALONEN elected president; percent of vote - Tarja HALONEN (SDP) 51.6%, Esco AHO (Kesk) 48.4%
      note: government coalition - SFP, Kok, Leftist Alliance (People's Democratic Union and Democratic Alternative), SFP, and Green Union

      Rama Legislativa: unicameral Parliament or Eduskunta (200 seats; members are elected by popular vote on a proportional basis to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 21 March 1999 (next to be held NA March 2003)
      election results: percent of vote by party - SDP 22.9%, Kesk 22.5%, Kok 21.0%, Leftist Alliance (Communist) 10.9%, SFP 5.1%, Green Union 7.2%, SKL 4.2%; seats by party - SDP 51, Kesk 48, Kok 46, Leftist Alliance (Communist) 20, SFP 11, Green Union 11, SKL 10, other 3

      Rama Judicial: Supreme Court or Korkein Oikeus, judges appointed by the president

      Partidos Pol�ticos y l�deres: Center Party or Kesk [Esko AHO]; Ecological Party or EPV [Eugen PARKATTI]; Finnish Christian Union or SKL [C. P. Bjarne KALLIS]; Green Union [Satu HASSI]; Leftist Alliance (Communist) composed of People's Democratic League and Democratic Alternative [Claes ANDERSSON]; Liberal People's Party or LKP [Pekka RYTILA]; National Coalition (conservative) Party or Kok [Sauli NIINISTO]; Rural Party or SMP [Raimo VISTBACKA]; Social Democratic Party or SDP [Paavo LIPPONEN]; Swedish People's Party or SFP [(Johan) Ole NORRBACK]; Young Finns [Risto PENTTILA]

      Grupos de presi�n Pol�ticos y l�deres: Communist Workers Party [Timo LAHDENMAKI]; Constitutional Rightist Party; Finnish Communist Party-Unity [Yrjo HAKANEN]; Finnish Pensioners Party

      Participaci�n de Organizaciones Internacionales: AfDB, AsDB, Australia Group, BIS, CBSS, CCC, CE, CERN, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, EIB, EMU, ESA, EU, FAO, G- 9, IADB, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IEA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO, ITU, NAM (guest), NC, NEA, NIB, NSG, OAS (observer), OECD, OPCW, OSCE, PCA, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNFICYP, UNHCR, UNIDO, UNIFIL, UNIKOM, UNMIBH, UNMIK, UNMOGIP, UNMOP, UNTSO, UPU, WEU (observer), WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO, ZC

      Representantes Diplom�ticos en EU:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Jaakko Tapani LAAJAVA
      chancery: 3301 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 298-5800
      FAX: [1] (202) 298-6030
      consulate(s) general: Los Angeles and New York

      Representantes Dimplom�ticos de EU:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Eric EDELMAN
      embassy: Itainen Puistotie 14A, FIN-00140, Helsinki
      mailing address: APO AE 09723
      telephone: [358] (9) 171931
      FAX: [358] (9) 174681

      Descripci�n de la Bandera: white with a blue cross that extends to the edges of the flag; the vertical part of the cross is shifted to the hoist side in the style of the Dannebrog (Danish flag)

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Favor de A�ar Esta Pagina a Tus "BOOKMARKS" - - - - -

    Deja tu direci�n electr�nico para recibir un mensaje cuando se cambia la pagina.
    Tu direci�n electr�nico:

    Revisto 01-Nov-00
    Copyright © 2000 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)